She Moves.......

SILLY CHILD

Is our universe a grain of sand
On a distant planet
A spinning mote of matter
In the vastness of some larger cosmos?

Silly Child! What are these thoughts?
Put them away and peel the potatoes!

Oh when I see thee love
My heart aches so deliciously
I cherish the very pain of it
I could gaze upon thee till I die!

Silly Child! Who reads such things?
Stop dreaming and feed the cat!

If God created all things
Did he create my blasphemous mind
With its impossible questions
And more impossible answers?

Silly Child! Who asks such things?
The Devil's work, read your bible and pray!

The curious and dreamy child
Her head full of stars and unicorns
Lowered her eyes to conceal her pain
Holding her bright broken thoughts.

Silly Child! Who needs such things?
Brush your hair and put on your warm coat!

The Child grew - now lover, wife, mother
Until one day from the hiding place within
She took her kaleidoscope of broken thoughts
And fashioned them into a beautiful mosaic of words!

Precious Child! Born with the Moon in Cancer
A woman now, ripe and full at last!

Carole Bone

.... in Mysterious Ways

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.