michigan man

By outdoorguy

Leap Year Leaper

We took our brother-in-law Wain up to the Tampa airport around 1 p.m. Whenever I'm in the area I like to stop at the Fort DeSoto state park in St. Petersburg, Florida. New this year is a 5.00 entrance fee. I liked it better when it was free.

I go there for the porpoise of seeing dolphins. And...I go there for the porpoise of seeing ospreys. Neither animal disappointed.

I took 402 shots today. Slowing down. I haven't even looked at most of them. I went right for the dolphins. 25 shots. They are so hard to photograph. They just don't come out of the water enough. Just enough to get air into the blowhole. DON'T THEY KNOW IT'S LEAP DAY??? LEAP...YOU BIG FISH!!! LEAP!!! On top of that...you never can predict where they are going to surface.

While a lot of people on the pier are thrilled to see the dolphins...the fishermen are not. They come by, and strip the bait right off the fishing poles. Plus...if by chance the men do catch a fish...the dolphins steal that, too. Makes you want to laugh if you didn't have to worry about the hook coming your way. Believe me...the fishermen weren't laughing.

A huge park, but there are places you can get away to where it feels like you are all by yourself. We shared a tip of land with just a white pelican couple and some flying mullet (fish). At least the mullet knew it was leap day.

We march ahead to March 1st. 4 years ago...I retired.

Click on the large icon for the porpoise of seeing the dolphins eye.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.