Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Siver Birch


I took the dogs out for a good walk earlier, onto the Hurtwood Common.

It often reminds me of Scotland up on the heath with its Silver Birches, Scots Pine and Bracken. It's a well used destination but, at a distance from any large town, it's not abused. Although you are unlikely not to find other walkers, the area is immense and they are few and far between. On the Greensand ridge, the ground is mostly silver sand, so there is little mud for the dogs to pick up and bring home. An added bonus!

My friend and I went up one day, with rather more dogs than you would normally have to heel, and managed to get ourselves somewhat lost. Thankfully she had signal on her mobile and managed to get the GPS function working. It was a miracle we had a phone at all! Both of us are guilty of leaving them behind when we go out.

The days are getting so much longer now and before long we'll be able to go out in the evenings after my friend finishes work. At the moment we can't go far without dark descending on us.

The breeze this evening had a chill in it. The sky is clear and I expect there will be a frost tonight. I would like to get on with my seed sowing but have a feeling I'd better wait a week or so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.