michigan man

By outdoorguy

Pretty Boy

There are 5 reasons why I go to the Red Barn Flea Market in Bradenton, Florida.

1. It's a great place to people watch. Both the shoppers and the vendors. "Excuse me...how much for the pineapple?" "2 dollar! Best price in market! Very fresh! Very fresh!" Or..."Sir...how would you like to look younger?" I reply..."What are you saying...I look old?"

2. Leather belts. 2 dollars apiece or 3 for 5 bucks. I bought 6. I couldn't skin the cow and tan them myself for less than that. Funny to watch all the old guys fitting the belts around their waists. "SUCK IT IN! SUCK IT IN!"

3. Sweatshirts, or hoodies. All the kids are wearing them. 2 for $15.00. Struck out on them today, though not for lack of looking.

4. Fruits and vegetables. Eureka!! It feels like the mother lode. Today I got carrots( 1.00 for 2 lbs.), green beans (99 cents a lb.), peppers (1.00 for a qt. bag of little ones), pinapples ($2.oo apiece), strawberries ($4.00 for a half flat), and yellow squash (4 for a buck). Not only good tasting, but so colorful!

5. The peacocks. You have to get here early to see the birds. I took about 300 shots, most of them throwaways. No sun. It was hard to pick between a full body shot, just the head, or just the tail feathers. I liked the "crown" on the head shot. None of the boys felt like spraying out the tail feathers for me. I felt kind of sorry for the pea hen. I wonder if she feels like she is part of the soap opera..."The Bland and the Beautiful?"

Taking it easy today. Might hit the docks tonight for some moon shots.

Click on LARGE for a look at the crown.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.