Anhinga Winga

I forced myself to get up, and get outdoors this morning. I do feel better, but...when I cough...it's coming from waaaaay down there.

A little bike ride at the preserve, and a trip to the botanical gardens.

I got a few insect close-ups, and a couple of birds.

Both the cormorants, and their cousins...the anhingas, spend a lot of time in this wing-out position. If they have to dry out their feathers, why does it take so long? Do they fancy themselves like a flying phoenix statue? Does it just feel good?

Try holding your arms straight out at your sides. I'm going to bet you can't hold them up for 2 minutes. So...how can these birds do it? It's a mystery.

Since I've already posted 2 pooping birds...I spared you the 3rd. But...it is first up on my FLICKR PAGE. Like they say in a snowstorm up north..."It's a white-out."

I did like how the anhinga positioned herself in front of the flowers and the water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.