SPhotography-One Year V2

By SummersPhoto

Portrait of a teacher!

In my class this morning at college - seem to be living there at the moment! I have my Friday morning class in where they are learning about digital photography and their little compact point and shoot cameras. Bless them - because it is a Friday morning class and quite a basic one, they are a little on the older side! It is a good challenge though - I talk about film a lot and they understand that - so transfer it to digital and voila!

The reason I am talking about age is not to be discriminative, but to say that at any age you can learn something new. This image was taken by a gent in his late 70's, early 80's who has been asked to "get with it" by his grandchildren. He was old school photography - knew how to work a film camera and develop those images, but give him a camera with automatic intelligent modes - well - he wasn't very happy at first!

We had a bit of a break through today where he was learning how to use the different modes that we may take for granted - change it from auto - to program - portrait - landscape - any intelligent mode. He found an old film and sketch effect and happened to take a photo of me!

He doesnt have a computer, so couldnt email it to me, so I asked if it was ok to take a picture on my i-Phone.

Result is an alright image - but what it represents is a lot more than the actual content of the photograph. And that is exactly why I love my job.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.