Me & My Best Man Bag!

Backblipping again!

Morning after the night before, this has been a long awaited morning. I was in better condition than I thought I would be. I did eventually get drunk, but not so bad I couldn't stand. I was in the really good drunk place. The most hilarious event from the night before was that Toni left the key to her suite in the room! FAIL on your wedding night. She discretely informed me and asked me to deal with it, which involved phoning her step-mother who had already retired for the evening. Toni knew she hadn't locked her room but couldn't get into the main building...dufus. Duty complete by me and a request that this be the last one of the evening lol.

Another fail from the night before was the Cake of Cheese which I bought Toni and Ali as a wedding present. I had been bigging it up to Rachel (my amazing plus one) for weeks, she loves cheese, this was exciting. However on the day the caterer, bless her, dressed the cake in fruit, including Kiwi Fruit. Rachel is very allergic to the fruit of the kiwi. So much so last time her throat began to close up. After the cheese had been on display for about 30 mins, I saw the drunken, cheese insane Rachel bound up to the table with a plate full of oat cakes and cheese. I tried to stop her, but she insisted she had taken the bits from the middle and also discovered there was a nurse in the room if anything were to go wrong??? I'm was not going to argue with that! I'm glad to say she is still alive and kicking!

The day after was spent clearing up and packing. Cuppa at Ali's parents and opening all of their cards. Ellie, who is Ali's niece asked Toni in her Newcastle accent, "why did you marry my Auntie Ali?" the reply to the 4 yr old, "because I love her!" This was so so cute.

After this Rachel and I bid farewell to the happy couple, taking a list of errands I had to do for them while they were on Honeymoon, and headed to Hawick to visit Rachel's parents. This was a great move, copious amounts of tea, coffee, homemade quiche and cheese scones! WOWOWOWOWOWOWOW amazing, absolutely lovely and yummy. I also met the near contender for today's picture, Rachel's dog Lucy, she was so so so so so loving.

The day did not stop after this, dropped Rachel home and then got a call from the parents to tell me they had finally landed in Edinburgh and they were on their way to visit Nana at hospital...OMG thank the lord they were home. I went to meet them and don't think I have ever been so happy to see them, there were a few tears after an immensely brilliant and loving but emotionally draining week!

Wedding Alternates - a mix

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.