Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Rainy St. Paddy's Day

This photo does not speak at all about St. Paddy's Day, but it certainly tells a story about the rain we've had almost all day. It was dry when we woke this morning, but mid-morning the clouds began to share their moisture. "Poured" is exactly what it did several times and the wind blew fairly strong as well.

The roses were drench and covered in droplets when I walked about the backyard with the pooches late afternoon and if my crummy little point and shoot had cooperated and focused for a crisp macro, I would have blipped another rose, but the focus wasn't worthwhile. So over the fence or actually through the top curley-Q of the gate on the water fountain side of the backyard to view the front and the wet street in front of us is where I pointed the camera. The stones on the right side are lining the outside of the livingroom fireplace.

"Listen to the Rhythm of the Falling Rain" is the song that has drifted lightly through my thoughts all day. I love the rain and I've read, commented, and graded lots more student papers today, and so this has been a day of accomplishment. All three of my writing classes submitted papers this past week, so I have been inundated with this task. I must return these this next week because my students are working on the next project and need the feedback to help them improve that project they are working on.

Happy St. Paddy's Day to everyone. I am 1/4 Irish so I feel a kinship with this holiday. Does that mean I should drink a Guiness? Eat corn-beef and cabbage? Dye my hair green? Well, I've only accomplished one of the three today and it's been a good day even if I didn't do all three. I love the 17th and today is maybe the second best 17th of the entire year. Of course November's is the best.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.