pooba.gingernut

By QuerkyPoo

THE LONE TREE

I thought I would do an environmetal picture to share a view of one of the places I do some of my birding. Two days ago to the left of this lone pine (on that side) there were over 80 Spoonbills sitting out the high tide before embarking on their feeding routine.

The concrete pad is the remains of the Pleasant Point Yacht club following its destruction from the earthquake Feb 22. (having been removed since) This area is the start of the Avon river - the upper part of the ChCh Estuary.
the wooden bollards are the remains of the jetty.

The picture I took of the Spoonbill ( Saturday) was taken just to my left on this side as I take this picture.

The tree is now dead and no doubt will be removed - so history is here in the making !!

I live in the hills (background) behind the tree - the houses are obscured.

rgds pooba.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.