The Hug Machine

Every day.
Without asking.
He seems to know just when I need a hug.
Perfectly timed.
Always appreciated.
Then in a blink of an eye, his attention moves on to other things.
Usually a computer, or a games console.
His hug was well timed tonight.
Struggling compounded by a shocker of a night last night.
Sleep deprivation is a bad thing.
3am, on my own, in the dark....my mind was playing through horrible scenarios.
I almost got in the car to just drive away from the thoughts.

Tomorrow, Manchester, for a course. Don't have to drive. Train almost door to door. No infernal motorway and definitely no errant drivers. Just me, the commuters and my iPod...Will take my camera I think - maybe go and mooch around for an hour after the course finishes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.