diary days

By Carie

60th Birthday Abseil!

Today is my 60th Birthday (can't believe how old I am!) and I started the day with a charity abseil at 9.00am. 150ft down the side of the Best Western Hotel in Juffair for the "Dreamflight" charity which take terminally ill children for the holiday of a lifetime to Disneyworld, Florida. Here we are collecting for two Bahraini children from underprivaleged backgrounds to go. My husband also did this and together we have raised nearly BD600 (about US$1700), lots of others did this as well.

I did this three years ago with my daughter down the same building, so this time decided I had to make it a bit more challenging and went down "forwards". Have to admit it is quite scarey when looking down 150ft and the instructor telling you to lean right forward and step over the edge!

Everyone at the bottom started singing "Happy Birthday" when I was about half way down, it was awesome!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.