must try harder

By halfcj

Catch up

I thought choosing 64 shots out of over 700 would be fairly easy, but it was not. Spend all day catch up processing shots from two days shooting. I had been fairly conservative, spending plenty of time with lighting and focusing so I didn't take 1000's of shots over the two days. But no, it was really difficult.

Amusing too, for on the second day, where I was delighted that the sun chose to behave in exactly the same manner as the previous day, for I had used sunlight as well as fill-in flash.....my speedolite was not firing!! Nightmare. They had to match.

Picture if you will, camera on the tripod in portrait position, using built in flash, with a diffuser globe hand-held over the pop-up flash, a chair perched in front of the tripod, with reflectors balanced on the chairs against either the arm of the chair, the other reflector and my leg, wrapped around the tripod, foot on the chair seat and knee doing the job an assistant would have done had the job been able to afford one!...that of reflecting and directing the natural light back onto the faces of my subjects, to simulate the lighting conditions of the previous day, whilst contorted around to the eye-piece to ensure composition and focus! thought I was playing 'Twister' with my tripod.

Turns out the hotshoe plate has, at some time, fallen off my camera. No-one carries it in stock! Typical. Got to order it from the States! No Flash for a bit!

Still, upside, it seemed to work. I can't tell the difference between the 2 days....more by luck than judgement. All done now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.