must try harder

By halfcj

A time for reflections....

It's been a whole year since we moved. It has fairly raced by. Impossible to believe. Not sure we even feel like it's home yet, particularly with B having spent so much time in hospital - hasn't really experienced all seasons in the house yet.

What has happened in that year? Good question, one that I struggle to find any concrete answers to. Don't get me wrong, we're looking forward positively, but there is very little we are able to say has moved forward. We're the same distance away from the investment we had expected a year ago...which is only a guess because it turns out we did't really know how far away from it we were a year ago....as nor do we now! We seem to have all the same worries we had a year ago, except that B has had an operation and feels significaantly better, but we'll not tempt fate. We seem to live in the same world of greed and struggle. The bankers still seem to get their bonuses, the spongers still seem to get the payouts and middle England bears the brunt. Nothing new then.

I wonder what the next year holds in store. Just before we took the dog for a walk today, I happened to be listening to the Floyd. As we wandered around the park and the beautiful sunset took hold, I found myself reflecting, not just on our lives, but also the realisation that I was not alone in my thoughts. Time, that I had been listening to only half an hour before, written by all four Floyd members, is the exact same thoughts I have just tried to express, only far more eloquently than I could ever do. (You may want to skip through to 2mins 20sec - long instrumental intro - unless of course you love PF!)

"Every year is getting shorter, never seem to find the time
Plans that either come to naught or half a page of scribbled lines
Hanging on in quiet desparation is the English way
The time is gone the song is over, thought I'd something more to say
"

Profound...lyrics written 30 years ago that i thought were just ramblings that rhymned, never actually taking the time to really listen. 30 years on, how I wish they were just ramblings.


BTW, the link to Cheap Flights I posted a few days agao, if you missed it, is really really worth a look...if you're feeling low, and need a lift, it is guaranteed a laugh if you have ever bought 'cheap flights'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.