Live, love, laugh

By Rianka

Wangfujing

After work I went to Wangfujing street, the most famous shopping street of Beijing, to meet up and have dinner with Beth.
Dinner with Beth. We always ask each other where we want to go, and then and up at a place like the one with the two golden arches (I am just calling it that, to make it sound nicer).

This time we actually went out on the street after dinner. And what fun that was! We walked around and saw all the nasty food on a stick (see picture: yes, that is a seastar, scorpions and seahorses!) and we also bought a lot of souvenirs for a very good price (Cheapest price for you my friend, very good price because you are poor students).
We also went inside the foreign language bookstore, which was great! Especially the book about how to talk about love in Chinese language. Hi-la-ri-ous!

We did some more walking and talking and buying a McFlurry (not me though, I was stuffed!). We talked about live at home and live here. How it is so different and yet so similar.

I am realizing more and more that I have the feeling I really fit in here already. I notice I am not really a big city girl, and I never will be probably. But I like it here. Of course I miss home sometimes, but not nearly as much as I thought I would.

I hope this doesn't shock you all, but I actually quite really like it here.
So yes, I am having a great time on the other side of the world. Although I can not walk around yet in t-shirts and short pants, as people at home can. But still: I am doing really good.
And the weather is getting better as well ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.