Live, love, laugh

By Rianka

Kindergarten


This day we did not have to go to our school, but we would go to another school/kindergarten in the afternoon. For the morning we were 'free'. So we slept in, I took a shower and did some laundry.
After this we met up with Penny (Chinese girl from AIESEC) and she helped me getting a Chinese bank account. I need this for my visa.. I think it is so cool that I now have a Chinese bank account. And it will probably come in handy when I will travel to the smaller cities. I already asked my mother to transfer money to the account.

We were just finished and wanted to go to the restaurant for lunch, when we ran into the girls (being Beth, Luca and Marlene) and Wang. They were going for lunch as well, but didn't really know where to go yet, so that was easy.. they came with us. We had lunch with 14 people, which we tried to fit into a little room on a round table. It barely fitted, but it fitted. And we had a lot of fun and a nice meal (with fish, frog and some other weird things).

After lunch we walked to the Kindergarten, which is near university. It is a very small building with only two classrooms, a toilet and a very, very small outside where children can play. Most of the time I think they just play in the street. We would be teaching for 3 hours. We prepared all kinds of different cultural stuff, like a quiz, songs, dances, games, painting and origami. The kids especially loved the origami, so Kaho had to work really hard.
When we were inside all the children said 'Hello' to us and they were very curious. The teacher was very enthusiastic about us being there. We got a bottle of drink from her and she took me by the arm to drag me outside for a picture.
Before we went to the kindergarten I was a little bit afraid of how the teaching would go. I was a little bit worried about the language problems and the fact that we didn't really prepare anything until 3 days before (because we heard on Friday that we could do this). But I keep forgetting that you don't really need language to communicate. I keep forgetting this and I think it is one of the most important things I learned in China so far. You don't need to speak with a child to connect with them. You don't need language to appreciate them. You don't need to say anything to them to communicate. And this is so beautiful to experience!

We made a groupphoto before going for dinner. It was very nice, but Kaho and I were very tired and glad we could go home a little bit in time.


Also today is the birthday of my best friend! So Girl: Congrats! I hoped you had a beautiful one ;)


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.