Views of my world

By rosamund

Dusk

I put off blipping as long as I could today, it was so lovely to get so many nice comments from everyone yesterday that I didn't want my blip day to end. I especially enjoyed my trip to the spotlight page which I've never had before. Thank you so much to everyone who shared in my celebrations.

The uncharacteristically good weather continued today and one thing I've enjoyed about it almost as much as the wall to wall sunshine is the beautiful night skies. The moon is spending her whole night travelling across the night sky in front of my house accompanied by Venus, on Sunday we also saw jupiter and last night when the children and I returned home from Freya's musical performance at Greenock town hall we could see all our favourite constellations.

I was really pleased that the children could name so many, between them they spotted Orion, the seven sisters (Pleiades), Cassiopeia, and the plough (big dipper - although Freya prefers to call it the giraffe, see if you can work out why). The sky was so clear we could even catch a glimpse of the sky behind the house and picked out mars too. Carlos has a hankering for a telescope, which i think would be awesome, the only problem is I'd probably want the photographic capability to capture even a fraction of what a telescope would show. Monocular devices don't come cheap though so we'll probably make do with clear skies and the iPad with the fancy app that identifies all the stars when you hold it up to the sky. Genius.

Can't wait to click the one year ago today button, but it won't be active til tomorrow because of the pesky leap year. Never mind, knitting and tv awaits. Have a good evening everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.