Let There Be Light

By solli

We Look At Life

Each March the Brennan Gallery at the Justice Brennan Court House celebrates Women's History Month by installing an exhibit of photographs by women photographers. This year the show was called The Female Eye ~ 26 Photographers Look at Life.

My photograph of a New York Police Department detective was chosen to represent, most likely due to the myriad of emotion in the officer's face and the look in her eye as she stands vigilant in the faceless crowd. When I took the picture, the only thing I knew about her was that she hailed from Brooklyn. But since I am a Chief of Detective's daughter and I wanted to be able to send her a copy of the picture, I tracked her down at the 61st Precinct and learned that she is with the Special Victims Child Abuse Squad. The first thing she asked me was "Do I look mean?" I laughed. "Well, maybe a little, not really, no...." It was such a pleasure to speak with her.

I had a wonderful time tonight with my family as I met the other 25 women who participated in the show. Their work was completely brilliant and I thoroughly enjoyed discussing ideas and techniques and learning about the personal aspects of their images. It was truly excellent to be part of something so uniquely special and so joyous.

Here she is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.