Travels with Alfie

By DavidCullen

Where did the sun go?

I spent all week watching the sun and the sun worshippers through windows - of offices, trains, taxis. By the time I had got home and dug out the bermudas, ray-bans and flipflops, the damn thing had disappeared behind a dense layer of bleughhh.

Just about the only blue to be seen today was this boat. Not a very well composed shot I know, but those of you familiar with my mud-related mishaps earlier in the week will understand (and forgive) my reticence in taking too many risks today to get the right angle.

I'm starting to get rather excited about our trip to Berlin. I am inveterate planner and this is tolerated and humoured (just) by the rest of the family. All the plans will, of course, be discarded by majority vote when we actually arrive at the destination in favour of something called spontaneity. But they let me bore them rigid, in the meantime, with guidebooks, maps, timetables, etc.

I will get my own back when I reduce our progress around the city to a snail's pace by taking hundreds of photos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.