hoodedpigwoman

By hoodedpigwoman

The Heavies

I don't know the history of this building, but it's currently a branch of RBS. So watch out! If you get in hock to them fat babies will come round and put the screws on.... although it's OK for them to get in hock to us, it seems.

Musical Interlude

Apropos of absolutely nothing, I have really been enjoying my new Bellowhead CD, but it has me reflecting once again on the unfair treatment of us ladies in the traditional folk song.

Attempts have been made to redress the balance, one of my favourites is the Oysterband's The Oxford Girl (do seek out the original version with Christine Collister's vocals).

But I thought I would share with you an equal opportunities love song from Sid Kipper, Norfolk's top troubadour. While being typically hilarious, it is actually rather sweet. You can get Sid a bit on YouTube, but he really must be seen in person....

A young person was a-walking one morning in May;
Met a second young person a-walking that way.
Said the first of these people; "I have Spanish leather,
And oh, 'tis my wish we were bonded together".

All things being equal our screws will be loose;
What's sauce for the gander is juice for the goose.

"For the way I respond to the charms that thou hast
I just cannot tell you, lest you feel harassed.
But you are so comely, and so fair of face,
How I long to enter your personal space".

Said the other "I'm willing, if you would agree,
To place you above me, and then underneath".
To a mossy green bank these two persons did haste,
And there, in a meaningful way, interfaced.

Both parties were eager, both parties were brisk;
Both failed to ensure 'gainst a third party risk.
And so, nine months later, as I understand,
A third person singular came, all unplanned.

Now the first person declared without guile;
"For your sweet sake I would lay down my life-style".
So these two were married, like sister and brother,
And over the threshold they carried each other.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.