A Hoodie for Ralph

A hot off the needles hoodie for Shipley grandson, Ralph, for whom failing, wee brother Sid.

The two 3 year old grand children I knit for are vastly different sizes, so I never know if I've got the correct measurements. I was told that Ralph is a typical 3-4 year old size unlike his Glaswegian cousin who is a big girl. Not at all fat, I have to say, just well built, as I was euphemistically described as a child, and requires a 5-6 size.

The other soon to be 4year old Rannoch grandson gets no hand knits because they are systematically shrunk and felted in too hot washes by an over worked house Dad.

All this hand knitting is really an expensive occupation for a bus pass holder who can justify being slumped in front of the television of an evening without feeling too guilty.

To farther occupy my television time, I have remortgaged the house in order to buy more wool to knit an Aran type cardigan for Nina in Glasgow. This will require a lot more of my undivided attention with all its cabley bits, so I will miss much of what is on the screen although I can still enjoy the sound.

But there will be no knitting tonight as I am going out for a meal with Daughter#1, Magpie, and old Mrs magpie, who is through east for her holidays.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.