Family Dog

By Family_Dog

banana = yum. carrot = non yum

We are in a whole new world (queue lots of bad singing by Jordan and her husband) with Arlo and it is FUN. We decided to start him on solids for lots of reasons, the main one being that he is actually a pretty big baby and was refusing to take milk because (I reckon) he was just a bit bored of it. He would do anything rather than drink milk, even The Times crossword I reckon, so I thought I'd give it a bash.

Baby rice I was advised, is a good place to start. Arlo hated it. He looked at me like I was a psycho (good analysis, son) and took great pleasure in letting it dribble onto his chin. And there was much confusion about this blue spoony shaped thing going into his mouth - 'outoutout' went his reflex and he went crosseyed as he tried to focus on it to bat it out the way.

Oh ho ho.

Eventually, I thought I'd started early and was about to give up but stuck a bit of mashy banana into it and it went like this:

1 spoon: bleurgh, get it out
2 spoon: it's in my mouth, there's something there, it's alright actually
3 spoon: gimmegimmegimme and don't you dare stop!

We've not really looked back since. Particular favourites are avacado & mashed banana, sweet potato, butternut squash and a mash up of carrot, potato & parsnip. He's not that sure about papaya but neither am I. It gave me the boak as it was cooking which is surely a bad sign.

It is lovely to be experiencing something new with Arlo, but I have to say, it's a bit sad at the same time. He's now officially on his journey. He will never be the tiny little baby ever again and sometimes I'd like to just keep him in a glass case and make it so that he's always as he is RIGHT now. Obviously, at the same time my mind wanders off and imagines him in his wellies rampaging through the park chasing birds with his mittens dangling down from each of his sleeves so I'm obviously mental.

Nothing proves the rampaging march of time more than having a baby.

Does that make sense AT ALL?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.