Licensed to Chill

By 007Roo

A National Event

The Grand National has always been a big sporting event in my household, I can remember watching and cheering as Red Rum caught poor old Crisp on the run in, I remember Bob Champion and Aldaniti, jenny Pitman training Corbiere, and names of old how many remember Party Politics, Ben Nevis, Mr frisk to name a few?

I wanted to be the first lady to ride the winner of the greatest steeplechase in the world, I went up to Aintree in 1987 and walked the cause, this was before all the modifications had been made to the fences and let me tell you they were big, but it didn't put me off wanting that dream. Today we nearly witnessed the first lady winner and hats off to the brave girl for giving all she had, and finishing a satisfying third.

Sadly two horses lost their lives in the race today, both unfortunate as one jumped beautifully but landed badly and the other was brought down. It's a question that will always be asked but then F1 racing is a dangerous sport too, this debate will run for years to come.

Roo was trying to help pick the winner today with the help of horse and chicken, I have always had a fascination with grey horses, I dreamt I'd one day have my own Desert Orchid( in my opinion the greatest ever national hunt horse) I'm glad he was never raced in the national, so I always have a flutter on a grey horse, well a grey horse won today the first since 1961, unfortunately it was the wrong grey horse!! Never mind Roo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.