Simply Me

By Suze981

Toesy

When we were young my brother's nickname at school was Lowesy (original huh?), so my sister and I made up silly wee rhyming nicknames for us. She was nosey, as she has a cute little squidgy nose. I was toesy, as I have freakishly long toes.

This picture doesn't really do them justice. On both feet my second and third toes are both longer than my big toe (when straightened out). I was once told it was a sign of intelligence, but I'm sure that was someone trying to find something nice to say when faced with such a deformity ;)

So we've established that my feet aren't pretty at the best of times. However running only makes them worse. You all remember the blood blister? Well we also have regular blisters, hardened skin, toenails falling off or black toenails. You can see that my second toe on my right foot is sporting the beginnings of a black toenail after the half marathon on Sunday. I feel like commiserating with my toe. It can only get worse from here on in - that's never going to get time to heal in the next 6 weeks! I think I might lose this one in June.

I went for a wee 5k tonight (in the rain) to ease me back in and to check that my legs are ok after Sunday. I'm pleased to report they're fine! Onwards and upwards :)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.