Journey Through Time

By Sue

How Do I Choose?

This one I selected is Lush...fully rounded huge tulips lush with this wonderful color, but I could have gone with artsy with it's unique perspective. Maybe this macro, one of several that I like would have been the one. Or we could have gone with the shot of the twins. These were tulips that were coming from the same stalk. I liked that one but there was a bit of another flower crowding them on the left, a bit of intrusion I didn't like. Pushy big brother, no doubt. Then, of course, the wide open landscape showing the surrounding countryside, the cloudy day and even a cow. To top it off, after leaving the Woodland Tulip fields, I was able to pull over and get some shots of these cows in a pasture with trees..

I went alone to Woodland, Washington, twenty miles north of me, to see what their tulip festival is all about. The hoopla is on the weekends with food, music, you know, the "hoopla". Weekdays is open for browsing and buying the tulips and for those of us who want more peace and quiet to take photos. I met another photographer who was there snapping photos. I struck up a conversation and eventually Ann was
telling me how to take pictures manually and I was trying...but half the time I can't see what I'm doing on that camera and there is a reason why Canon made the Auto setting! LOL I promised her I would read that part in the manual and really, really, really try to learn. Really. She is on the CCC (Capture Clark County) contest site that I am also on, so I am going to look her up. I also told her about Blip and I'm going to send her a link, as she had nifty little business cards and she gave me one. I want nifty little business cards now.

Woodland is a much smaller tulip venue than the one in Woodburn, Oregon, but I thought they had more of a selection of different tulips. It's a totally different type of operation than the Woodburn festival. Now, I need to go to the Granddaddy of tulip fields, the one in Skagit Valley, in northern Washington. That would be an overnighter, at the very least. For us, more like a three day trip. We're old. We get tired. LOL

Have a good day Blippers. Keep smiling, makes people wonder what you are up too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.