The food of love

Tomorrow is International Record Store Day (I kid you not!) and yesterday Levon Helm died. Today's blip was always going to have a musical theme wasn't it?

I drove to work with the Last Waltz on 11 with some tracks on repeat a number of times - and this is the music from The Band's final concert in 1976 rather than the song made famous by the UK's entrant in the Eurovision Song Contest this year. Helm believed that the film, directed by Scorsese, was the biggest rip off The Band ever suffered and blamed fellow band member Robbie Robertson for editing out most members of the group but emphasising his own part. Helm left The Band amid this acrimony and was reportedly bitter and unreconciled to the end. But the legacy of the music they made together lives on and it sounds as fresh and new today as it did all those years ago.

So for the image I grabbed some proper records - these are albums for our younger readers, there are vinyl platters with grooves tucked away inside these colourful cardboard sleeves - and added the DVD of The Last Waltz. I'm sure that many of you will recognise the albums here.

Gill rang down with her regular critique of my blippage and I passed so that was good news - by all means say hello to Gill in the comments, I know she checks them out. And make sure that you check out eo's fantabulous blip today.

The weekend is upon us so I hope you are geared up and ready for it. When I get off of this mountain you know where I want to go! (Robertson, 1969)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.