Grave Diggers

I can't, can't, can't believe I'm doing this! I had absolutely no intention of posting a photo at the cemetery today. I had a nice little photo of a pot of tulips to tip my hat at the North West blippers who gathered in Woodburn amongst the tulips yesterday for a blip meet.

Yet, when I looked at this photo, it just captivated me, and I just want to share it! Is it the fabulous tree under which Mother Comfort and her beloved husband now rest? Is it the wonderful wooded area full of deer just behind them? Maybe the odd juxtaposition of the hearse and the tractor, or perhaps the grave diggers themselves.

Never have I gone, unceremoniously, to a grave site while it was being prepared. I have attended many grave side ceremonies, but Mother Comfort had not wished to have one, so my sister, husband and I just came to be present. The informality of it gave us a chance to ask questions and experience it in a raw sort of way that helped me get a tiny peak into the lives of those who do this every day as a way of life. Bless them for their hard work and the care in which they do their job to honor those they serve.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.