Juleshki

By Juleshki

Summer's evening

I hope it's been as gorgeous where you are today as it is here.

Came home from work to find the canal on my doorstep looking like this.
Ok, I know it's always on my doorstep.
And I know it often looks like this.

But when you get close to home, turn a corner, cross over the old humped back bridge (no, I mean it's a really old humped back bridge!) and see the sun shining across the trees before it settles down behind the hill and onto pastures new, then it really makes my evening.

The horse-chestnuts on the drive are bathing in the full sun of the evening as we speak and yet it was only 11 degrees C when I got home, which, be honest, is not cracking the flags, is it? But it looks so warm.

Also on my way home from work I dropped a colleague off at a bowling green as he was playing in a games of bowls which was starting at 7.00 pm. Would he be man of the match? I'll find out soon enough, but what a gorgeous evening for a rather pleasant game of bowls.

I maintain I am a little too young yet to play bowls. It is one of those things I am saving for when I'm a bit older.
I also maintain I am still too young to grow dahlias. I'm saving them for when I get older too.

You may think I'm bonkers.
This is something we can probably debate...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.