Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A favourite view

I was out walking today. I wanted to check one part of the route for Sunday's walk. In order to reach that section I had to do a walk in from Housesteads car park and return on the Pennine Way. I ended up walking nearly 10 miles and a lot was very boggy indeed. The section on the Pennine Way was the worst I've experienced it there, although it was easy to get across the flags which are always underwater. Today the water was clear, apart from toad tadpoles, and it was easy to see where to put one's feet. It was the acres of mud further south on the path that were hard work.

The forecast for Sunday is dire and my lovely wild 13 mile walk offers little shelter.

Tomorrow's forecast is a bit better. The weather today was excellent. There was a lot of sun even though the wind came from the cold North.

The people you can see walking the Wall are a group from a Special School near Holmfirth. This was the first fine day for them and they were very cheerful.

At the bothy near Greenlee Lough, the two residents had spread their sleeping bags out on the walls and there was a clothes airer with socks and underwear hanging on it. I decided not to go in to say hello in case they had nothing on. (I know I could have told them I was a doctor and had seen it all before, but it didn't seem fair........)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.