Travels Through A Lens

By SnapshotSam

Man's Best Friend

It has been very wet with high winds all day as well as last night. I woke up to the sound of the wind trying to prize the tiles of the roof and stayed under the duvet a bit longer not wanting to move.

What isn't heavy enough or nailed down has moved! I ventured out for a blip and got soaked.

This was taken at the Embsay railway station where the steam trains were running but it was too grey, wet and windy to get some decent pictures whilst trying to keep my camera dry. The dog was watching the man eating a bacon sandwich, hence the look :)

I also found this poem which reminds me of Alice and Barney, so this is for you (not the old boy bit, of course, but the rest)

My Dog's My Boss by Robert William Service

Each day when it's anighing three
Old Dick looks at the clock,
Then proudly brings my stick to me
To mind me of our walk.
And in his doggy rapture he
Does everything but talk.

But since I lack his zip and zest
My old bones often tire;
And so I ventured to suggest
Today we hug the fire.
But with what wailing he expressed
The death of his desire!

He gazed at me with eyes of woe
As if to say: 'Old boy,
You mustn't lose your grip, you know,
Let us with laughing joy,
On heath and hill six miles or so
Our legs and lungs employ.'

And then his bark was stilled to a sigh
He flopped upon the floor;
But such a soft old mug am I
I threw awide the door;
So gaily, though the wind was high
We hiked across the moor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.