A place in time

By Verbosa

Oh, bother!

During the morning, one of the lads in work (thanks Ben) pointed out that one of my care tyres appeared flat. When I looked, it turned out that I had a screw embedded in the tread, resulting in a complete "flattie". It must have just happened on the way in, as I certainly didn't feel anything funny when I was driving this morning.

However, I'm ashamed to say that I didn't attempt to jack the car up myself and replace the wheel once I discovered I couldn't even lift the spare out of the boot! (What a wuss!) Instead, I was rescued by Mr A who came straight to my office car park tonight after getting off the London train (luckily for me, my office car park is just along from the mainline station) and replaced it and got me on the road in under 30 minutes. What a hero!

So first thing tomorrow I'm off to Martin's Tyres to get a replacement and the good tyre switched from the emergency wheel to the alloy, and probably another replacement too (£85 a pop, no less) so that I have two new tyres at the front. Then the guys are always good and I know they will switch round the wheels/tyres to get the safest and best combination.

P.S. I meant to say the Star Wars mantra of "May the fourth be with you" today! But I forgot. And I am annoyed with myself. I usually spend all day on the 4th of May each year chuckling to myself with that little badger. But then, I'm easily pleased.

P.P.S. Received my Blipfoto parcel today, so will be modelling my "Blippers do it once a day" t-shirt tomorrow with pride. Oh, and my blip-badge. And in reply to those lovely people at Blipfoto - yes, it did make my day, thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.