My life, my lens

By JennyRampling

Day at the zoo

It was our last day of holiday and it was snowing when we woke up. As our flight was at 9.30 this evening we decided we would have a late check out and then packed up and headed to Calgary Zoo.

By the time we arrived the snow had turned into a torrential downpour and we were wondering if we were completely mad to be there. On the upside we were the only people there so had the place all to ourselves!

I'm not a real fan of zoos but I have to say that this one was huge, really well laid out and the animals looked well cared for. Our first stop was the 'Canadian Wilds' area to see the bears (black and grizzly), wolves, bison, eagles etc. The bears were our favs and we arrived at feeding time so they were all out and looking quite scary and I'm glad we didn't come across one in the wild.

We spent over four hours looking around and could have spent longer as there were so many different areas to visit. It was then back to the hotel to collect our bags and straight to the airport.

We have had the most amazing two weeks and while I'm looking forward to seeing our flat I'm sad to be heading home.


Calgary Zoo, Zoo Road, Calgary, Alberta

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.