Thistle Down

By Ethel

Grandma

I went to visit Grandma,
Her house was neatly kept.
I tip-toed softly to her porch,
And there she slept.

She did not see me coming,
And neither of us spoke.
I sat so quietly on the step,
Until her eyes awoke.

She sat there in the rocking chair,
Her hair was silver-grey.
And down along her neck-line,
Some locks were prone to stray.

She asked, "How was Her Honey?",
And I said, "That I was Fine".
I handed up her knitting,
With her knotty kind of twine.

I looked upon my Grandma,
In her age...just sitting there.
And I wondered...if some day...I'd sleep,
Just sitting in my chair.

E.P. 1908 - 1989

This is an oil painting that was done by Ethel of her Grandma. She doesn't say which Grandma - so I got out the portrait pedigree chart and this portrait looks most like her mother's mother, Lucinda Shipp, born in 1851 in Kentucky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.