Proud Weegie

By Shiv

...music was my first love....

I bought a guitar for £6.10 on holiday in Dublin when I was about 7 (took the money out of my post office account) because I loved Elvis !

Took one lesson and gave up because it clashed with Brownies.

I was very fortunate to be given free trumpet lessons from P7 until leaving school and discovered a whole world when I joined a brass band.

I had more enthusiasm than talent and I was in awe of people who could sight read with ease and do all the hard fiddly bits. When I got more wind I upgraded to a tenor horn and loved it more.

Sadly I don't have time to play (the neighbours are pleased) and I was overjoyed when No1 and No 2 were given the chance to learn a musical instrument.

No 1 gave up cello in high school. No2 still plays but I don't think she plays for love - I think it's a chore for her.

I'm holding out for a brass player with No 3 ! Then I can dust off my practice mute and pucker up .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.