MaybeDaily

By MaybeDailyBob

Tennessee State Flower

Not quite really:
The iris was designated as Tennessee's State flower in 1933. There are about 170 species of iris and they come in many different colors. While state legislature did not name a particular color, the purple iris is considered locally to be the state flower.
I was going to call this Flowers in the Rain, showing my age:
"Flowers in the Rain" was the first chart single played on BBC Radio 1 when it began broadcasting at 7am on 30 September 1967.
The thing is this is just one flower so it doesn't quite work. How long it will survive given the battering it was taking this morning with the wind after last night's rain. I suppose I could have linked it to yesterday's and ...
An early blip today as I have no idea how much time I will have later. I could have put up a few shots of this flower but I like this one best. The colours from the yellow on the stigmatic surfaces to the purples and dark reds are beautiful.
At work I viewed this on a 20 inch screen and it looks awesome. If I had worked how to link to view large there would be a link (more homework) View large ; so you will have to find the little magnifying glass yourself to see what I mean thanks to RedFlash for this.
By the way iris takes its name from the Greek word for a rainbow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.