MaybeDaily

By MaybeDailyBob

Whats that coming over the hill is it sun?

Bathed in sunshine this is one of the fields looking down towards the Worthy's just outside Winchester. I can't say I like seeing fields of oilseed rape (not a patch on fields of sunflowers in France) but this does look lovely in the sun.
I like the way this (sort of) fits into thirds with the green of barley (I think) leading down to the tree line and on to the yellow of the oilseed rape. The tracks made by the tractor lead the eye back up to the trees with numerous shades of green. All topped off with fluffy clouds and a bit of blue sky.
Inner voice is saying "My what a load of tosh".
Rapeseed oil was produced in the 19th century as a source of a lubricant for steam engines. It was less useful as food for animals or humans because it has a bitter taste, this has now been removed by generations of farmers (or more likely scientists). It is now used as diesel fuel, either as biodiesel, straight in heated fuel systems, or blended with petroleum distillates for powering motor vehicles. Biodiesel may be used in pure form in newer engines without engine damage, maybe I will stop off here when I need to fill up next.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.