Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Familiar View of the Old Town

Another misty moisty day (ie dreich, but I'm trying to be positive) and I'm off into town early to grab a blip before my meeting with the Grumpy Old Codgers Pipedown Group.

I walked through East Princes Street Gardens, and it's lovely, with the wet tree trunks as black as ... er, black, and the new green shoots as green as ... er, green. Might try there another morning, for I had a blip I wanted to do this morning.

I've been meaning to blip the Old Town, the part that was in the painting featured in my first blip. When it's sunny* the sun is directly behind the buildings, so the buildings are in shadow, which means blipping in the early morning, or evening, or a dull day! And there was a bit of colour in the sky today. I've included the spire of St Giles, which of course isn't in the painting, otherwise it wouldn't have fitted in anybody's house.

A cuppa at JL's and tragedy! I left without my wooly and had to hurry back. Fortunately it was handed in. Note to self: This would not happen with a nice tufted wig!!

Off to my meeting at a new venue (muzak-free of course) and I was MOST impressed. One of our number is in a certain bank, and they make rooms available for account holders and visitors. When I say rooms, I mean really nice rooms, with fantastic furniture, a flash coffee machine (help yourself), iPads for visitors' use and two Mac computers, not to mention the papers and a nice view.

I am going to move my remaining fortune to this bank forthwith! Or at least £1000 £100 £10 to open an account there!

Back home, wet and cold, I rewarded myself with a giant sized bar of chocolate. Only £1, so fantastic value and very hard to resist. And, as everybody knows, if nobody sees you eating it, the calories don't count!

Off to an afternoon (French) movie followed by a meal at the noodle place. What could be nicer?

* I was walking behind a couple of tourists the other day and I heard one explaining to the other, authoritatively, that Edinburgh only has THREE days of sun a year! I was going to tap him and say he was wrong - I'm sure we're in double figures!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.