Smashing Times

The clear skies to the North, hid the fact it would be showery today. Juno and I walked up the hills a couple of times, with various company.

I was sea kayaking today at Aberdour, we decided to try a late start to avoid the worse of the weather. More stroke practice, challenges to stay as close to the shore and navigate through skerries. To look at our paddling it was out to Inchcolm, the channel was ripping a tide with some swell. I was nervous but managed to keep the kayak in a straight line. Some tea and chat with the lady staying on the island, sounds a great summer job.

Back out to sea and turning into a current and swell, scary stuff.

Back to the bay some support strokes and capsize drills, lovely.

A wonderful old local was walking his 2 dogs and chatted away to us, he has an old yacht that his is sea going craft as he is too old now for the kayak.

Back home and I dropped my bag and smashed the thermos flask, I love the noise of the swirling glass in the fluid when you walk. It reminded me when I was young and took the house tartan flask with me fishing and smashed it, walking home dreading the reception I would get, as the fluid swirled in the flask.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.