That's the tree up!

Busy day. I have an Ikea table which is only used at Christmas. Each year we put the legs on and one appears shorter than the others. I know they are all the same length so I reasoned that it must be the bracket to which they are affixed. Having a putative engineer in the family I invited him round to see if he could determine the problem and fettle it. We still don't know why one leg appears to be shorter than the others when the table is assembled but at least we know what it isn't. We spent about 5 minutes putting up the Christmas decorations - no point in going over the top now is there?

Then we headed out for the main Christmas food shopping. We went down to Ashford because it's the biggest store in the area so we were less likely to find empty shelves and lots of people jostling each other. It worked - the only thing I couldn't get was bread sauce but as I've treated myself to a food processor I can make it from scratch (did I mention that I trained and worked as a chef a lifetime or so ago?). Having the food means that I can start prepping stuff - one of my guests is a rabbit so I'll be doing a separate meal, sans meat, for her and that can be cooked and chilled.

Time for wine I think

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.