Atrophy

I don't know what it is that attracts me to buildings that are falling into disrepair. I mean, it's not like I'm a pessimist or a nihilist who feels that ruins align with my worldview, or that I like to see things falling apart. I can't understand why I like to photograph things that were once new and pristine but that are now on their journey to decrepitude. But I do.

Whatever the reason, it was the same fascination that resulted in me being mesmerised by this footage of Chernobyl, which inevitably reminded me of '(Nothing but) Flowers' by Talking Heads. 

Not that my photo was taken anywhere quite so exotic. It's part of the old brewery buildings in Lancaster. I was down there, this evening, for a Christmas drink with a client, although, as I was driving, it wasn't as festive as I'd have liked!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.