Happy Christmas on a COLD morning

I'll start by wishing anyone who sees this a very happy Christmas and a good New Year!
During the night both the wind and the temperature dropped so we woke up to 20°C of frost and a windstill day with just a few thin clouds.
As the sun started to come up there was this beautiful light in the sky and the snowy ground shone where the sun struck it. But the sun was still behind the trees so it was still in dark shadow with just streaks of sunlight.
I grabbed my warm clothes and headed out before breakfast.
The sea had mostly frozen so the old snow covered floes mixed with new ice without any snow but covered in frost crystals.
Although colder than yesterday it feels more comfortable because there is no wind stealing my warmth but taking gloves off for more than a few seconds is not a good idea.
I shoot a lot of images because it seems such a magic moment and in all directions there is drama in the cold and the sunrise. In the end the picture I choose is a rather peaceful scene with only one streak of sunlight across the ice.
Later in the day we all went out for another walk so for more blips of snow and the frozen Baltic see ClaireEyes' and In a blink of Jan's eye's blips.
Happy Christmas Day everyone!!
A few minutes ago I backblipped my Christmas Eve's photo of us trio of blippers! if that's of any interest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.