Reading

I do the Christmas meal for everyone each year. I love doing it and it's the one time that we know that we'll all be together. Because Rowan was working we didn't eat until 6 which meant that I had the whole day to cook rather than the usual mad dash to get everything done for lunchtime. As well as the usual stuff around the turkey I did mini Yorkshire puddings and roast fennel and I shredded the sprouts and sautéed them with chestnuts and made proper gravy from stock made from the giblets and thickened with a roux - proper cooking like they taught us at college.

And we exchanged gifts and laughed and hugged and caught up on the gossip and relaxed. Now they've gone home I have a mountain of washing-up to climb tomorrow but before that it's time for a glass of Port, a rather fine looking cigar and Clint Eastwood on the telly. I hope you've all had as lovely a day as I have.

The shot is of the Christmas Elf enjoying one of his books. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.