Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Leith looking lovely

Another glorious crisp, blue skied day. Another (comparative) doggie lie-in. All good!

JR had never been on Archie’s favourite walk - Canonmills to Leith docks along the Water of Leith, so today we set off across town (two buses) and did it. I’m sure Archie knew where he was going, because he started yapping excitedly the moment he got off the bus. Mind you, it's such a great walk, that I'd be yelping with excitement too, if I was a dog!

We met so many dogs - Archie’s pretty good at saying hello now, and then coming away when called. At one point a greyhound ran round and round and round between the trees, with Archie trying to catch up, giving little high pitched squeaks and yelps. The greyhound would run round a bunch of bushes, stop and wait to see Archie coming, then go the other the way - it was very entertaining. That greyhound really was having fun. At Archie's expense.

The river was so calm down at the harbour - it was lovely. I had hoped the wee shop with the lovely coffee and even lovelier muffins (spiced apple and custard) had been open, but sadly it wasn’t.

Home on two buses, and I must say, Archie was very good. It’s a long way for a wee dog, and he didn’t whinge. Nor did he yelp as he got off each time, which is a blessing.

I had him in the shower to hose off his muddy legs and beard. The doorbell went. I couldn’t stop mid-flow… But I did hurry and rush to the door, Archie charging after me, dripping water everywhere, barking. I was in time to see the delivery van man wave at me and wish me a ‘Happy New Year!’ and point to the bush, where he’d left the package.

Archie’s wee sore paw (dermatitis) is still bothering him, mainly because, although we put cream on it and stop him licking it, we can’t stop him all the time. And so, yes, I’m afraid…

The Cone of Shame will have to make another appearance...

I have chopped off a bit of it so that it’s not so unwieldy, in fact it should be almost tolerable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.