Still Here!

By Yorkhull

Snow art

......though not as we know it. It seemed a good idea to carve 365 out of snow but our collective (me and my son) efforts this morning proved more difficult than I thought. Still it makes the point.

I was very unsure that I would keep this going at first but I am so glad I have done so and have learnt so much in the process - I was a casual snapper only and now take reasonable photos; I knew that there were birds but not what they were called; I would never have bought a bird feeder station a year ago; I purchased a camera to improve and now I'm thinking of upgrading again. It's been an incredible journey.

On the way I have met some simply wonderful people who have subscribed to my journal. I value your support, praise and critique and you have all lifted me up when I have been low. I love looking at the variety of blips you all display and it is so much part of my daily routine now.

I think I am still more a writer than a photographer though the photos have given a context to some of my meanderings. Stimulated by Gilesy's 100 Objects I intend to embark on an occasional series reflecting on some major moments in my life stimulated by an artefact which I shall blip. Watch this space!

I haven't done much that is new since I was diagnosed three years ago and Blipfoto represents the only thing I have engaged in and become attached to afresh. I continue to do a lot of the activities and connections which has defined my life for many years but Blip was new and challenging. I am so glad I started it and now I have reached the milestone I set I intend to continue as long as I am able.

It's been an exciting, sometimes frustrating, sometimes frantic, sometimes disappointing, certainly surprising year on Blip. Two friends of mine have started blip too and that is really cool but I have found new friends, some amazing people and I have seen and read your insights into your lives. Thank you so much for sharing and thank you for sticking with me.

Happy new Blip Year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.