Cigs

By Cigs

A90 (Queensferry Road)

So there I was; my plan for Cigs today was this:

I am dining in town this evening at a friend's house. I'm due there around 8.30pm. I figured I would get a bus and get off a couple of stops after their home and nab a Cigs blip before arriving for dinner.

So before all that, I awoke to the most fabulous sunrise; scorching purples and bright oranges. Needing no further invitation, I sought lycra (sorry for that image) and dug out the mothballed Giant Defy 3 and hit the road on the bike. Armed with a camera, loads of water, 3 satsumas, a woolly hat and a vague destination (Falkirk Grahamston around 1pm), I headed off into a stiff head wind.

When it was sheltered, it was fine, but there were sections of sever e buffeting (not the eating kind...)

My mind had completely disengaged; nothing to do but remember to turn the pedals over and admire the scenery as it slipped by.

Until I got to the junction where NCN Route 1 crosses Whitehouse Road. Minding my own business, I'm suddenly jolted into life; there's a Cigs just before the crossing.

Unexpected bonus, I think. Having it! So, I set the camera up, #selfie done (sorry - there's lycra involved...) and onwards with a smile on my face.

Across the Cramond Brig, the sharp climb up past the pub means even in the lowest gear I have to work.

But then - in the next mile - 5 more Cigs tags. All the same as the first one. White pen, all on telecoms boxes. It looks like Cigs had walked or cycled to / from Dalmeny / South Queensferry armed with Deli and a pen and tagged their way along....

So, there's a week's worth waiting to be done.

Anyway I made Falkirk, it rained on me, I had great fun. 40 odd miles in not particularly good time, met her after she'd finished lunching with her mother. We boarded the 1254 to Edinburgh Waverley; had a great chat on the train home, kissed tenderly under the station clock and I came home for soup.

I'm heading into the New Year smiling - here's hoping you all have a brilliant 2015.

#loversoflightandshade

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.