Simply Me

By Suze981

New Horizons

I don't usually make New Years resolutions, but this year I have two. By this time next year I will both be debt free and running properly again.

Debt free - Without going into too much detail, I've had a lot of debt. I currently pay out a substantial proportion of my salary a month to clear it. That's the price of two masters degrees, a few holidays, a little stupidity and a couple of mistakes along the way. But by this time next year, for the first time in my adult life, I'll be debt free* - provided my calculations are correct and I limit the stupidity. (* except mortgage and student loan - unless I win the lottery it'll be a while before I pay these back)

Running - You all know the trials and tribulations I've had running this year. And I know I've said it before, but I really mean it this time, I'm going to do it properly. My new schedule involves 1 swim, 1 Pilates class and 2 runs a week. I'm hoping to build my core, my stamina and still run. For January, they'll only be short 2 mile runs, but each month I'm going to assess and build. This is me being the tortoise I promised.

I don't know why felt it necessary to drive 30 minutes to a deserted beach in Longniddry this morning, but it felt right. Symbolic somehow. As I ran along the beach, in the rain, listening to New Horizons by John Parr I felt happy. I can't think of a better way to start a new year.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.