A Day Late!

Now THIS was the kind of sunrise picture I was hoping for yesterday, the first day of the year!  

When I got up this morning it looked as if it was going to be another dark grey day.  I pushed myself out the door anyway, as I knew that a walk would do me good.  

I'm not one to make a long list of resolutions for the new year, but often pick one thing that I would like to change about my life.  Last year it was 'get out more with my camera', especially on my trips to the US. (see my blip from this day last year)  I was in a bit of a rut and needed to reignite my love of exploring, playing tourist and taking pictures.  Starting blipfoto last year was part of that push.  

This year I decided that the ONE thing I could do which would change my life quite drastically would be to just get up earlier.  Being a natural night-owl who is also constantly jet-lagged, getting out of bed in the morning is no easy feat, but I know I feel so much better and get more done if I do.  Dolly has no interest in morning walks, so I have decided not let that stop me - my morning walks can be just for ME!  

So this morning I was pleasantly surprised by an unexpectedly beautiful sunrise as I walked around a nearby lake.  We have several of these lakes just outside our village, but this is one I only just discovered a couple of days ago.  I'm enjoying exploring new paths and I will take Dolly there when the ground is either frozen or dried out in the warmer months.  A little dog and the deep mud don't get along too well this time of year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.