diary days

By Carie

Wish we had more beaches like this!

I live on a small island surrounded by a warm pale blue sea and sand everywhere. I never believed people before I came here, who said there are almost no beaches in Bahrain. How could this be, with so much sand there must be beaches! Well pretty soon after arriving (almost 5 years ago now!) I realised they were right! You drive around the island and rearely see the sea, just catching a tantilising glimpse of turquoise every now and then. The sandy beaches consist of a course sand, like a course building sand. The water is very shallow. Al Jazayer public beach is often dirty and you have to cover up, so no swimming costumes let alone bikinis (my bikini days are long over anyway!) There is a reasonable beach at the Sailing Club and it only costs BD3 for the day. There is also a nice beach at the Yacht Club on the other side of the island but you have to be a member. There are a couple of "beach clubs" but they're not brilliant. Al Dar Island is reasonable but spoilt by the views of oil tanks and refineries. The Novotel has a nice beach but is expensive. The Sofitel also has a beach but I am not sure if you have to be a member. And the best? The one in the picture is the beach at the Ritz Carlton, for members and hotel guests only. No visitors and membership is very expensive, so my wish is that we had more beaches like this which are reasonably priced.......well I can dream!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.