LaKwAtSeRa

By LaKwAtSeRa

Liverpool Cathedral-Longest Cathedral in the World

Anne and I went to Liverpool today to visit the Liverpool Cathedral (Church of England) and Metropolitan Cathedral of Liverpool (Roman Catholic). We walked to West Kirby train station from the house since we couldnt find the keys to the car (luckily we found it when we got back home).

When trying to set up my camera for a photoshoot outside Liverpool Cathedral, I unfortunately broke the bayonet mount ring on my 18-105mm lens when my camera (already attached to the tripod) fell over due to ridiculously strong winds. I was so sad especially because i thought I wouldnt be able to use it anymore (and we have not even gotten inside the cathedral yet!). Luckily I was still able to use it but i have to hold the lens so that it will not fall off the camera body. It was very difficult and I generated fatigue on my left arm trying to hold the lens for the whole trip. I checked the net later on to see if I can fix the broken mount ring and knew that I can easily do this if i have the right tools and a replacement bayonet mount ring which is not expensive at all (London Camera Exchange said they would charge me 50GBP for repair and replacement of the part. No Thanks!).

Inside the Liverpool Cathedral at the Lady Chapel section, we met an artist (George Lund) who was ink drawing the Lady Chapel. He gave us a nice postcard print of his works and signed the card for me as well. Later when I checked his works in the web, apparently he did an exhibition of his works inside Liverpool Cathedral last August 2014. From his accent, we thought he was british but he was in fact from Norway.

We also visited the Roman Catholic church at the other end of the street. The church reminded me of the Holy Sacrifice Chapel at UP Diliman. It has the same circular design and pews were placed around the nave with the altar at the center facing the main entrance. It has 16 trusses that angles towards the center making the church look like a tent from the outside. Inside the church, on the columns, hung metal castings of the 12 stations of the cross. I took a photo of each station while Anne sat on one of the pews. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.