Simply Me

By Suze981

Gazing up into the darkness

Gazing up into the darkness
I saw myself as a creature driven and derided by necessity [see what I did there?];
and my eyes burned with anguish and anger.

James Joyce, Dubliners

As part of my new fitness plan I am to go to Pilates once a week. The osteopath said that if I was to run again, I must do it in conjunction with Pilates. My back won't be able to take it otherwise.

I've been to Pilates before and quite enjoyed it. But if I'm to swim, spin, run and do Pilates as opposed to just run, I have to find an affordable way to do it. My old Pilates class was too expensive, so I bought a discount card for Edinburgh Leisure and decided to do all my activities there.

This class was not like my old class. It felt like a cross between a legs, bums and tums class and a yoga class. Thrice she made us move opposite arms and legs. The horror. Once is forgivable, twice is unacceptable, thrice is sheer mockery of my lack of coordination. This clearly is not the class for me. Next week I'll try a different instructor.

This was my view as I was reeling from the horror.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.