just a Moment in the wood

By wavingarms

Moving on

It's time to go.

The road less travelled turned out to be a good path, though a hard, stoney path to walk solo. At times I thought my heart would break, that I couldn't bear the depth of the ache. Doubts accused me more penetratingly than any lawyer. I interviewed my motives, and didn't always like what I found. I never realised that you could have two wrong decisions to choose from.

To find that my path crossed that of another, and that the two paths merged, has been the biggest surprise of life. I still ache and, if truth be told, tears roll, when I think of those whom I left staring at the crossroad.

This little place had been my refuge. It has also been my school as I learnt about myself. Now it's time to move on, to take another road. But this time I have a travelling companion. We know the twists and turn of our paths to this point. We're ready for an adventure. And, journeys should be such fun.

So, unhang the pictures, wrap up memories with tenderness and as my mug says "Shut up, and get on with it!"

What If This Road

What if this road, that has held no surprises
these many years, decided not to go
home after all; what if it could turn
left or right with no more ado
than a kite-tail? What if its tarry skin
were like a long, supple bolt of cloth,
that is shaken and rolled out, and takes
a new shape from the contours beneath?
And if it chose to lay itself down
in a new way; around a blind corner,
across hills you must climb without knowing
what's on the other side; who would not hanker
to be going, at all risks? Who wants to know
a story's end, or where a road will go?

~ Sheenagh Pugh ~

(Technical note - normal service, no sniggers please, will be resume on reconnection to the interwebbythingy)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.